A Wine Weekend in Michigan

Are you looking for an amazing, relaxing and exciting girls weekend?  Michigan is the way to go!

Michigan

Wineries, Chocolate and lovely conversation are the way to go.  I live in the Chicago area, so we simply drove our way through MI.  We drove from Chicago to Ann Arbor, MI and stopped at many fabulous places along the way.

We packed the car with my favorite vitamin waters, Terra chips, latest Glamour magazine, blankets and we we’re set on our way to Michigan!

wine bottles

Our first stop was the Round Barn Winery.  We walked in and we’re kindly welcomed by the staff.  They we’re exceptionally friendly & extremely welcoming.  We started an amazing tasting and I honestly have to say I enjoyed all of them. I ended up leaving with the blueberry wine, apple and  Gewurztraminer wine. Each wine was under $20 and worth every penny.  Delicious! They also served a warm wine with spices that is a must try.  So warm and flavorful.  I honestly have to say that I most definitely will be stopping at this winery again on my next MI trip.

We also stopped at the the St. Julian’s Winery in Paw Paw.  Again, amazing friendly staff.  You have a wine glass to take home with you after the tasting! I would say that my favorites (of course I bought them) we’re: the hard cider, sangria, simply pink (breast cancer support wine) and I was absolutely in LOVE with the peach wine.  I have never in my life tasted a better peach wine.  If you like peaches, I would highly recommend it.  It reminded me of summer on a beach.

Julian

We explored downtown Ann Arbor and it was a beautiful weekend.  Snow lightly covered the the trees and it was absolutely gorgeous!   Ann Arbor has more food places than I have ever seen in a little town.  We had amazing Asian Food at Tomukun Noodle Bar.  The portions we’re huge and the happy hour had outstanding deals!

hotel

We stayed at Weber’s in Ann Arbor and it was close to everything in the area. Do you like chocolate?  Then you must must stop at  Vineyards Gourmet Chocolate.  I had the most amazing bluerries dipped in chocolate.  Did you even know they made such amazing things?

Blue

I heard all about BIGGBY coffee and that I must try it if I am going to Michigan.  So indeed I did.  I would strongly recommend trying it as well! So delicious and you can get it frozen iced or warm!

Big

Michigan truly has so much to offer and gives an amazing girls weekend, family or romantic weekend something to remember! In my opinion, it’s an amazing girls weekend filled with great wine, amazing food, laughs and an absolutely incredible time.  You can truly go back every few months and have a different experience, see different wineries and stop and eat at different food establishments.  We plan on going back to Michigan when the weather is warmer for strawberry and apple picking.  Do you have any Michigan recommendations?  If so, please feel free to share.

M

About francescasflops

Francesca's Fancy flops have been worn by celebrities from Jerseylious, Real Housewives of Orange County, Mob Wives, Basketball Wives, American Idol stars, Chicagolious to Full House star Candace Cameron Bruce and so much more! Fancy Flops was a part of the 2012 MTV Movie Awards Celebrity gift bags. We have been featured on Fox 2 News & numerous magazine/newspaper articles.
This entry was posted in Fabulous Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

